Ricardo Mor Solá


ricardo mor sola

Ricardo Mor Solá, Ministry of Foreign Affairs and Cooperation, Ambassador-at-large for Cybersecurity, Spain

As Deputy Permanent Representative of the Permanent Mission of Spain to the Organization for Security and Cooperation in Europe (OSCE) he actively participated since April 2012 in the Working Group created by Decision 1039 of the Permanent Council (26 April 2012) that developed a set of Confidence Building Measures (CBMs) to reduce the risks of conflict stemming from the use of Information and Communication Technologies (ICTs).

He contributed to the drafting, negotiation and adoption of the first package of CBMs on cybersecurity, adopted by the OSCE Permanent Council Decision No. 1106 (03 December 2013).

He is acting as the official contact point of the Ministry of Foreign Affairs and Cooperation in all issues related to the exchange of information and consultations concerning the Spanish National Cyber Security Strategy of 2013.

He carries out documentary work, logistical and organizational support to the Spanish experts of the various ministries involved in multilateral meetings and in coordination of preparatory meetings of the European Union.

All the proceedings are subject to the instructions of the Ministry of Foreign Affairs and Cooperation, consistent with the role of the OSCE as a regional arrangement under Chapter VIII of the United Nations Charter, and in conformity with the efforts of the United Nations in promoting CBMs in the field of ICT security.

In connection with the above, he acted as the Spanish expert in the United Nations Group of Governmental Experts (GGE) on Developments in the Field of Information and Telecommunications in the Context of International Security established pursuant to paragraph 4 of General Assembly resolution 68/243.

He contributed to the drafting negotiation and adoption of the 2015 Report of GGE, and served as facilitator in the discussions on the draft report for Chapter IV “Confidence-building measures”.

Finally, he is Member of the National Cybersecurity Council and Chairman of the Working Group of the National Derivative Plan of the National Cybersecurity Plan that the Ministry coordinates with other governmental ministries and bodies.